February 3, 2010

  • Memories and Dreams

    The moon swallowed the sun
    In the silence of the night
    Only the God of the universe
    Could help us reunite

    Candle glows faint on dreams
    That we used to share
    Surely this hour of darkness
    Angels protect the dreams we once shared

    I have cried the tears
    Upon sand where we used to lay
    Barefoot and free
    We made memories that stay

    Something seems odd
    Time without you
    Only memories and dreams
    For the soul that I knew

    The candle seems not to care
    As the last flicker of light
    Leaves me alone
    Encased in moonlight

    I will close my eyes
    Pray the same prayer
    Grant me our dream
    That we used to share © 2010

Comments (22)

  • What a sad poem of unrequited love. 

  • @vexations - Bill thanks for stopping by and also for the mini! I agree this is a sad poem. Keep warm and maybe Spring will be here soon.

  • “used to share” – hem

    Very cute, audibly sad, a might bland for all of its potential, but for a simplistic work, very lovely.

  • @Seranish_Shores - Thanks for your comments … I am trying to improve my poetry and I appreciate your comments. 

  • Your opening sets this poem up really well.  I like the image that creates.

  • @zens_pen - Thank you very much for your comment … I struggled with this poem and I am glad you liked what you read.

  • When you ‘cry the tears on the sand where we used to play’… these tears become the raging waves too, taken into the ocean by other waves, to bring crashing back on the same shore, to remind you that you are not forgotten. This was a sad love poem. Very well written.

  • mmmm…  melancholy, but beautiful, at the same time…  nice write!

  • yes, sad and beautiful.  twists my heart to read this … been there.

    j.

  • Dang, that’s sad.  ”Only the God of the universe could help us reunite.”  That made me especially sad.  Beautiful tho.  :0)

  • @ZSA_MD - Thank you for your comment on my poem. I agree very sad … sometimes one has to walk into the valley to understand what climbing a mountain is really like. Life is full of sadness and also joy. Thanks for visiting.

  • @J_P_Savage - Thanks for you comments and for visiting. 

  • @speraquodvereor - Thanks for  your comments … I feel that most people can relate this kind of sadness. Wish you the best! 

  • @ccarothers - Thanks for visiting and for your comments. Hope your 2010 is filled with many days of joy and happiness. 

  • i am VERY joyful to know you are faithful too my friend!!!!

    praise to our Lord JESUS!!

  • @chr1st1an - Thank you for your kind words … God bless you as well. 

  • This was a most well written piece. I loved the wistfulness in the words. Sadly, such a loss as you described is how true affection is measured.

  • @zionlover - I thank you for such kind words … I do feel that it could use some improvement in several areas. When you read any of my work and you would like to make suggestions or ideas of changes … I am very open to constructive criticism. I am really trying to improve my writing skills. Thanks so much for visiting and I wish you best.

    Steve

  • @NightlyDreams - Yes some of my poetry is sad. Thanks for stopping in!

  • @stevieheart - You’re very welcome, Steve.  I kind of, however, don’t like criticizing other people’s poetry for the simple fact that I don’t fancy people doing it to mine. The reason being is that some tend to misinterpret the message of my poems and criticize them on a pretense. This is especially true whenever I use metaphors and they are taken literally. But I personally think this poem is great as is and wouldn’t change a single verse of it. I too love exercising my writing skills and Xanga is a perfect place to do so. Take care.

  • @zionlover - I understand your reason for not wanting to give constructive criticism … and thats ok … I completely understand your concerns, but just know that if you feel like giving some suggestions or ideas I am very open to getting that feed back. I will never take your suggestion in a negative way. Thanks again for visiting. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *