March 15, 2010

  • The Old Violin

    The strings of grandpa’s violin
    Awaits the master’s hands
    Setting in the corner
    Trying to understand
    Years have long past
    Since his fingers stroked the strings
    Invading tunes into the night time air
    Making the old violin sing
    Memories of melodies now invade the air
    Allowing my soul to hear what once was played
    Now only dust covers its strings
    Looking as if its been betrayed
    The day will come when Angels will arrive
    Taking my soul for a heavenly ride
    The heavenly gates where all things come true
    And Angels wipe the tears that have been cried
    I will ask the angels at this special time
    One front row center seat on God’s heavenly shore
    Handing over the old violin
    So grandpa can play the the strings once more © 2010

Comments (16)

  • This is really lovely. It was like I actually heard the chords of that violin as I was reading this. The words flowing as smoothly as music. Keep writing.

  • How your words carry with it a melody that only an appreciative heart can hear. Thanks for this nostalgic piece. Reminds me of Father’s old guitar. But that was long ago. And Father had already gone where his forebears had gone. Soon …… 

  • @zionlover - I am honored that you like this poem. Needless to say writing this poem brought back many memories and also some old melodies. Thanks again for visiting. 

  • @Norcani - Some day you too will be with your father again and hear him play his guitar once more. I am so glad you liked this poem and thanks for visiting. 

  • @stevieheart - You’re most welcome. It was a pleasure reading. Just in case you’re interested, I had posted a poem some weeks back here you might want to read. Take care.

  • Beautiful, I really like this.

  • @zens_pen - So glad you stopped by and for your comment. I am still trying to perfect this one. This is my second attempt … so glad you liked it. 

  • Beautiful flow of words Steve. I truly loved the imagery that you have tried to portray here.

  • @ZSA_MD - Thanks so much for the visit and more than kind comment. Glad you liked this poem; however I still fill something is missing with one … this is my second post of this one. Thanks again. 

  • Wow, thanks so much for all the comments!  It’s great to get feedback from my fellow Xangans.  =)  I really enjoyed this poem of yours, and I’m going to look around on your site some more.

    –OnePoemADay

  • @OnePoemADay - Thanks for your comment! I truly feel your writing is very well done and I enjoyed reading your poetry. I find the blank paper to be screaming at me, but sometimes the flow of ink seems to not flow. I need to write some more poetry very soon. Thanks again for visiting. 

  • I like the picture you paint here.  I can see the instrument, the dust…the first 12 lines are my favorites.  

  • @vexations - Thanks for visiting and your comment. Hope you had a wonderful Easter. 

  • @NightCometh - Hi and thanks for your comment … your the only one that has truly asked me to come back. I will soon. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *